The Kickoff

Standard

Hi Friends! Only 30 days left until my whole life flips upside down! I go back and forth between feeling excited, anxious, and extremely curious about what the whole experience is going to be like. But I guess part of the adventure is not knowing, right? I like that.

The whole study abroad preparation process has kept me extremely busy on top of managing school. I have come to find out that if you are applying to study abroad for a spring semester program, you aren’t given much time to “get your crap together” before you head out. My flight it booked, I have received the first round of my travel shots (which just so happen to NOT be covered by insurance, so that dug a nice deep hole in my wallet), and I was just notified that I have officially been accepted as a student at the University of Hyderabad and can now start the student visa process. Now if I can just manage to survive the rest of this semester, I’ll be in India before I know it.

Anyway! I appreciate you taking the time to read my first blog post, and hopefully you will find yourself coming back to read more.  I figure this is a good way to stay connected to my family and friends in the U.S., and writing always provides a nice outlet for perspective and emotion. I can’t promise to post consistently, some of my posts will be long while others are only a few words, I will most definitely have grammatical errors, and I am sure a lot of the experiences I have I will be unable to be put into words, but I will try my very best show you what India is like through my eyes.

For those of you who don’t know me and who just happened to stumble on my blog by happenstance, welcome! My name is Mary Gaughan (last name pronounced ‘gone’), I am a junior music therapy major at Arizona State University, and I will be studying abroad in Hyderabad, India next semester–if you didn’t gather that much already. I bet the title of my blog makes a whole lot more sense now, huh? Gaughan (Gone) To India. That’s me!

Welp! I guess that’t it for now. My next post probably won’t be until right before I leave. Back to homework and all that fun stuff…

– Mary

2 responses »

  1. Very cool!!! Like how your blog actually was intresting, and im looking forward to seeing what you have to share. Hope you enjoy your time there.

  2. Thanks for the update, Mary
    You are gonna have a great time no matter what or where, bless your heart!
    My advice about the dogs is “khabardar; kutte–kharab!” Roughly, do NOT pet any of those pestilential dogs, no kidding. Like I told you; don’t drink anything with ice in it. Have a great time and looking forward to more of your blog. Ask if the “New Mysore Hotel [i.e., restaurant]” is still there in Hyderabad. Had my very first South Indian meal there in December 1965.
    yrs, ted

Leave a Reply

